The history of the America's Cup and the design Method

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by peterhalswell, Nov 20, 2006.

1. peterhalswell

peterhalswell Junior Member

Hi,
    I'm a mechanical engineering student at exeter university. I'm currently doing a project about the America's Cup and more importantly the designing methods used.

I was hoping that someone out there will be able to point me in the right direction, whether its books, website, contacts or anything.

The important bit in the project is the designing methods and how they have change in the last 150 years. I will be using the America's Cup as a time line and to hopefully show how the change in design methods has change the yachts themselves.

For example;
    I found out that George L Watson was one of the 1st people to use towing tanks to design yachts, and so his designs had deeper drafts and larger ballast which can be seen by his design of Thistle in 1887.

As with 99% of student i have left it a little bit late, I have just over two weeks to finish the research.

Any input welcome, any design methods (old or new), including computer design (CFD, FED, etc), anything about the America's cup or anything generally interesting.

Thank you very much
    Pete

2. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

You certainly need to get hold of a copy of 'The America's Cup - And Informal History' by Ian Dear. It was published by Stanley Paul in 1980, ISBN 0 09 141430 X.

It is a pretty good account of things up to that date.

Test tanking has been a very important part of the design process since Watson's era and still is used just as extensively today. You can, of course still visit (and use) the Denny Tank up on the Clyde, and Strathclyde Uni may hold some old research information.