Hull Design and Porpoising

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Houndie, Dec 30, 2007.

1. Houndie

Houndie Junior Member

Hello

I am a rookie boat builder and need to build a setnet skiff. I am getting close to a hull design. My concern is that I have a little bit of bow in the aft section of my hull. It is not much, however it sounds like it does not take much to cause a porpoising problem. I am hoping for a little input on the topic. I have read all the post I could find on the topic. I have attached a profile picture of my hull, the boat is 22' long. A straight line drawn between points 1 and 3 show a curvature between my keel and the straight line of 3/4 of an inch. A line drawn between points 2 and 3 show a curvature of 1/4 inch. The buttocks show a progressively more but slight curvature as I move towards the chine. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am hoping the numbers are low enough and will not have an effect on porpoising. I guess is what I am looking for is do evening small curves in the aft section as I have create porpoising.

Thank you

2. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Houndie,

A general rule of thumb for a planing boat is that there should be no curvature at all in the buttocks from a point 60% aft of the stem waterline to the transom. The curvature you have is not a lot but why have any at all? Even a little near the stern is bad for performance. Some curvature in the forward sections is necessary in a warped plane hull.

3. Houndie

Houndie Junior Member

Hey Tom