looking at a 33 Black Fin combi hull

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by senile32nd, Apr 9, 2011.

1. senile32nd

senile32nd Junior Member

I found a unfinished 33' combi hull and looking at powering it with yanmar 360 hp deisels and zf pod drive systems. I am looking at putting a boat together that will take a beating over time and be as fuel friendly as possible. Trying to build an off shore fishing boat for east coast Fl. I am new to this and am being helped by friends who both captain vessels. 61 ft viking and 40 some foot boat.

Trying to plan a build that will allow me to get a better boat than if i just purchased someone repowered or used blackfin. Not just a pipe dream i hope!!

just looking for suggestions and any input

2. senile32nd

senile32nd Junior Member

Anyone have any input? is this a sound plan i am unable to conact a dealer yet for their input as i am currently deployed in the stan so i was hoping to either get a yeah sounds great or ( ) would be a better solution.

thanks in advance

3. Bglad

Bglad Senior Member

The economy of it won't justify the expense but it will perform well and I think you will find you won't need 360 hp diesels. Two reasons not to put the bigger engines. The ZF/Zeus/IPS systems give greater efficiency than straight inboards and if you don't overpower the boat you will be less likely to break it.

4. senile32nd

senile32nd Junior Member

I wonder how low hp rating i could go and not be disappointed with the performance?

5. senile32nd

senile32nd Junior Member

thank you for the response btw, i am gonna try to save as much money as possible while doing it right the first time.

6. Bglad

Bglad Senior Member

What you will find is that the engine/drive manufacturers are closely managing the specs on these projects to insure installations are successful. If I had to guess the Combi would get the same performance as the 375hp Cat inboards with somewhere around 275 to 300 hp in a pod drive.