Changing The design of a Kingfisher rowing shell to strip consruction

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Brian75137, Feb 9, 2014.

1. Brian75137

Brian75137 Modified Kingfisher build

Has anyone taken the plans for a Kingfisher rowing shell and redesigned it for strip consruction. I want to build my kingfisher using stip construction, and the plans call for using okume plywood (stitch & glue) I want to use 4 different colored woods and create a geometeric design on both fore and aft decks. I'm a rank amateur at this and could really use some help with the design and layout of each bulkhead so the boat is fair.
    Brian75137

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Brian, that is going to be problematic. It is do able but it will have some disadvantages. If the design is for S&G then that implies flat panels and hard intersections, not the most appropriate for strip building.

Plans for S&G usually show the layout of the panels and not much detail about the station shapes. The location and dimensions of stripper mould frames may be difficult to determine from such a set of plans.

One possibility is to build the stitch and glue boat in rough form and then use it as a male mold to build the stripper. Or build it in smooth form and then cover the exterior with thin strips that will be strictly for cosmetic purposes.

The other option is to get the plans for a similar boat that is designed for Clinker, carvel, or strip. In that way you will get a table of offsets that let you do the section molds with some degree of certainty.

3. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

I think its Texas River rat who builds develop-able panels out of wood strips, so that his ' S&G ' designs look like strip plank/

It looks really good, and with the right timbers, may even be better than plywood.

4. Skyak

Skyak Senior Member