Lofting Technique

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by tuhin.name, Jan 18, 2009.

1. tuhin.name

tuhin.name Junior Member

Dear Members,

I am a novice in the field of construction. The problem i am facing is, i have

- A lines/Frame plan i. e. station at every frame in AutoCad system.

Now i want to develop the shell plates for a particular plate size and want to have templates for checking during bending so that it can easily fit on the hull.

And particularly one thing, Marking of the frame line on the straight shell plate so that after bending it resembles the real frame.

I know there are many software that can do it. But i want to understand the process. If any suggested readings or document please name it. I am waiting to have an answer.

2. alangluyas

alangluyas Junior Member

Hi Tuhin.name

I think we need more information on what you are trying to achieve. Is the hull a chine form or round bilge? You say bending the plates. Do you mean rolling?

From the brief information you have given I would suggest you download a free version of ProBasic, ProSurf or ProLines from New Wave Systems and plug your offsets into that to re-create the hull. With one of these progarms you will be able to develop any of the plates shapes and mark on it any lines you want to.

The geometry of doing it from the beginning is tedious but not difficult but I can not see why you would bother to "re-invent the wheel"

If you are familiar with Rhino3D, then by all means use Rhino as it is avery powerful and flexible tool, but if you can't, then the learning curve is steep.

Good luck

Alan Gluyas
    Professional Marine Surveyor and Amateur Designer
    Fremantle Western Australia

3. tuhin.name

tuhin.name Junior Member

Dear Alangluyas,

Many many thanks for your reply. The hull has a round bilge, a bulb and a skeg. And instead of bending it would be rolling. I have attached a JPEG image of lines plan for clear understanding.