Living on a catamaran (and building it)

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by lunarmys, Jun 6, 2008.

1. lunarmys

lunarmys New Member

Hi people

I have no experience of sailing nor any experience in boat building, but .. I have (what some might called crazy) a idea of wanting to build a catamaran and then live on it.

I'm a computer geek who work from home, so the whole plan would be to sail from shore to shore (Scandinavia -> Europe and possible down to Africa as well (and why not India?)) and work by connecting to the internet via 3G or satellite.

I would like this boat to be my permanent home.

That's the background/idea.

Are there any people out there who are currently living on a catamaran?

The plans I've seen on the net seem to be geared towards "cruise for a few days" kind of trips, whereas I (think I) would need lots of storage space for fresh water and food (I'm thinking of being out on the sea for a few weeks at a time).

Something I'm also thinking about are solar cells. Would it be possible to cover the sails in solar cells?

Any points of where I can research a project like this one? Any special keywords I could search on?
    Searching for house boats give me smaller boats that don't seem to be made for the ocean, and I'd prefer a sail boat.

Any help/pointers/tips/suggestions are much appreciated!

/ d

2. chesapeake40

chesapeake40 New Member

Google

In a nutshell, a catamaran of the size and outfit that you may require could take thousands of hours to build by yourself (4000-8000 is a rough guess assuming you're somewhat handy), and could cost you hundreds of thousand of euros.

Assuming your goal is seen to completion, my initial thought is that a catamaran is not just a floating house. You may be underestimating the costs (time and money) associated with maintaining and sailing a boat in this manner (long term cruising with all the gadgets). It can be nearly a full time job in itself.