Lines Drawing

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by klowe34, Oct 22, 2012.

1. klowe34

klowe34 Junior Member

How do I make my lines drawing given just the basic dimensions of the boats
    Length
    Beam
    Draft
    Depth
    Freeboard
    Foscl
    Displacement

2. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

Why would you want to make lines drawing of a boat, knowing those dimensions?

3. klowe34

klowe34 Junior Member

Im a sophomore in Naval Architecture and as part of an assignment, we are given these main dimension and we are to complete a lines drawing of a offshore supply vessel that satisfies those dimensions

4. daiquiri

Sorry for being curious more than helpful. See, back in days when I was a student (aerospace engineering) we'd also be assigned tasks of preliminary designing of various types of aircraft. But it would come at the end of a course, during which the professors would explain all the theory, procedures and steps necessary to perform a correct preliminary design of an airplane.
    Now, are you saying that you have been given a task like that without previously being taught how to draw lines plan of a vessel? I just cannot understand the sense of it? :confused:

5. klowe34

klowe34 Junior Member

We have gone over the basic grid form to make for our vessel, but we were not taught how to use autoCAD, the program we're to use to complete the lines drawing, or how to form our buttocks, waterline and hull form in the lines drawing. We have some background, yes, but I feel as though I don't know enough to complete a lines drawing for my vessel

6. daiquiri

So are you asking "how do I use the AutoCAD" or "how do I design an off-shore supply vessel"?

7. klowe34

klowe34 Junior Member

I am asking, what are the general steps (ex. how to make your grid, determine your water lines, buttocks lines and hull form) to making your lines drawing of a ship given the principal dimensions

8. JosephT

JosephT Senior Member