lightweight Sailboat plans ~12f - so many out there

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Jasio, Aug 17, 2010.

1. Jasio

Jasio New Member

Hello,

I am novice sailor and new to this realm in the search for answers.

Since a couple of month I have this Idea in my head of building a sailboat and now that the Alaskan winter is approaching I want to move forward with it to get it ready for the next spring to come. I have some woodwork experience and want to learn more as I am tackling this project.

I am hoping to find some plans that will imply the following specs:

- lightweight ~100 pounds so I can pull it around with a bike trailer
    - versatile (rowing/sailing)

So far a stitch & glue plywood construction will most likely fit my needs, but as I approached to find the right design I was kind of overwhelmed by the sheer amount of options out there.

the following designs appealed to me:
    WineGlass Wherry http://www.pygmyboats.com/mall/WGWSPECS.asp
    CLC Jimmy Skiff http://www.clcboats.com/shop/boats/wooden-sailboat-kits/jimmy-skiff-rowing-sailing-kit.html
    Mud Peep http://www.devlinboat.com/mudpeep.php

Any suggestions? Also on resources for wooden boat building from plans. Looks like picking up a copy of Devlin's boat building will be a good Idea.

I appreciate you taking the time to peek in.

Cheers Mate
    Jasio

2. peterchech

peterchech Senior Member

Try the bolger cartopper u might find free plans online somewhere

3. peterchech

peterchech Senior Member

Just don't sheath the entire hull in epoxy it adds weight and is unnecessayr imho

4. peterchech

peterchech Senior Member

I mean fiberglass not epoxy

5. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

That WineGlass Wherry looks so pretty, but if you plan to put sails on it I would recommend adding some flotation volume inside.

6. Jasio

Jasio New Member