Help with catamaran wiring and layout

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Charlyipad, Feb 28, 2015.

1. Charlyipad

Charlyipad Senior Member

Yikes. reading through some of the exchanges here just reminds me how little I know. Fortunately I am just getting started with the wiring for my cat project, and may be able to avert a few headaches with your help.

First I just have a few basic questions and will make a few comments just to see if I am on a good course. My boat is a 36' sailing cat that will primarily be used for day/ weekend trips.

Power sources are twin tohatsu 9.8’s with alternators, and one 100 watt solar panel w controller.(Renogy).

Minimum power requirements will be engine starting, led strip lights in each hull and and on deck, one bilge pump in each hull, one wash down pump on deck, two digital depth sounders, nav/anchor, spotlight, compass and spreader lights, vhf, and stereo sound system, charging ports for phones, etc.

OK, my thinking is that I should have three independent 12 volt systems, because of the layout and distance between hulls, and so I could spilt the loads up , and avoid isolator switches. Is this better than an integrated system?

.Seems the power hogs will be wash down pump, stereo and vhf. (correct?) The third battery could live in the steering console, (amidships aft) and be powered by 100w solar only , for the nav lights, and vhf (occasional use)? Battery is a standard deep cycle “car” sized- don’t know the amps, but at least it would be portable. I do have a set of jumper cables aboard.

Question: will 100 watt solar panel support a stereo (sometimes i like it loud) with occasional (rare) vhf transmissions?

Any brand recommendations for stereo system? I have been looking at those bose systems and will want to store the music in an i pod or something.

The starting batts in each hull (one per motor) are a bit larger, though not golf cart size.

Any comments appreciated.