Change From I/o To Out

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by syngledad36, Mar 26, 2013.

1. syngledad36

syngledad36 Junior Member

Guys I Am New To The Boating Thing
    I Have A 1972 19' Mercruiser With 351w All The Motor And The Outside Parts Have Been Removed.

How Do I Patch The Hole Where The Outside Parts Went?

What Hp Do I Need? I Dont Care How Fast It Goes I Just Need It To Go From Point A To Point B Just To Fish.

I Do Not Want To Put A Bracket On It So Cant I Just Cut The Back Area Where It Will Mount To Tilt The Motor Out Of The Water?

How Hard Is It To Attached The Steering Parts To The Outboard?

Can I Attached The Same Hydraulic System For The Tilting?

HOW FAR DOWN OR UP DO I NEED TO MOUNT THE OUTBOARD AND HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO CUT OUT FOR THE TILTING OF THE OUTBOARD?

2. FMS

FMS Senior Member

Outboards come in 20" and 25" shaft lengths. Your antiventillation plate will be level with the bottom of the hull.

Outboard boats have transom knees that strengthen the transom and usually connect the transom to the stringers.

Without a transom bracket, an outboard well is also advisable to allow the outboard to tilt up while preventing the boat from flooding in bad conditions.

3. syngledad36

THANK YOU .. I WAS READING WHERE I MIGHT HAVE TO USE setback bracket TO MOUNT THE OUTBOARD...... SO YOU ARE SAYING THE OUT BOARD WILL MOUNT WITH OUT ANY BRACKETS ADDED AND IT WILL HAVE PLENTY OF ROOM TO TILT WITH OUT CUTTING THE TRANSOM?
    WHAT HP MOTOR DO YOU THINK I NEED I WAS TOLD A 20 TO 25 HP WILL WORK JUST TO GO FISHING WITH

4. CDK

CDK retired engineer

No syngledad36, that is a misunderstanding. The current transom must be cut to accommodate an outboard and an outboard well must be added to make room for the tilted engine. It will also add strength to the otherwise unsupported center of the transom and prevent water sloshing over it into your boat when you back up.