light weight lay up

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by nordvindcrew, Sep 6, 2006.

1. nordvindcrew

nordvindcrew Senior Member

I have a mold of a 16' 8" rowing boat that I took off a boat that I designed and built. I pulled one boat out of the mold. The lay up is 3 layers of fiberglass mat and polyester resin. I didn't use any gel coat in the mold, and had a lot of pin holes to fill before the hull was painted ( a lot of work ). the resulting boat preforms well but is quite heavy ( about 180 lbs.) I race in open water events, and weight and strength are both important. Any help on a lighter lay up that is not too technically demanding would be a great help

2. jimslade

jimslade Senior Member

One layer of 1810, one layer of 1/2 inch nida core. one layer of 1810 glass. light and strong.

3. nordvindcrew

To jimslade, I'm an absolute beginner at this. actually, I was amazed I even got the mold done and a boat out of it, let alone a pretty good boat that rows fast and wins races. To get to my point, I have no idea what 1810 or nida core is, and how difficult they are to work with. If I can figure how to do it, I'll post a photo of the hull for general info. thanks

4. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Nord, there are two reasons I can think of why your boat is so heavy. One is chop-strand mat, the other is that you're new to composites.
    CSM is weak, porous, absorbs a lot of resin and is by far the heaviest fibreglass for a given weight. Cloths are far lighter for the same strength.
    New builders almost always use far more resin than needed. If you find yourself using more resin than glass by weight, you're probably adding a lot of extra resin that isn't making things any stronger. The trick is to use just enough resin to fully bond the cloth layers together, without any excess resin.