Lex Nicol, did he ever create any stock plans?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Corley, Mar 24, 2010.

1. Corley

Corley epoxy coated

I've seen a few Lex Nicol trimarans come on the market from time to time but there seems to be nothing online as far as details on his designs were they all custom one-offs? As far as I know Escapade was one of his designs are there any others?

2. catsketcher

catsketcher Senior Member

I am not an expert but Lex was more into racing than cruising and as such kept designs moving along. His boats included

Devils 3, a 31 ft Bay racer that made a Twiggy look like a battleship Hired Hand, Escapade and a sistership, a couple of cruising cats (a mate owns a 42 footer that circumnavigated) and an infamous one that I can't recall. There are some more too.

Nicol got out of designing and building boats after there was a huge fallout over the rating of the boat I can't name (I forget). The boat was measured at a heavy weight, got a good rating and somehow was lighter when sailing.

I think he was Hedley Nicol's nephew.

I saw Hired Hand burn up in about 1990. It was very sad.

3. redreuben

redreuben redreuben

Escapade had the lattise truss type cross beams yes ? She was in Freo sailing club for a while but the last time I saw her (2009?) She had a for sale on her, not sure if she is still around. Sweet boat, nice proportions. Was she also Mooloolaba Fire Truck ?

4. Mari0n

Mari0n New Member

Lex Nicol

Lex lives in Yeppoon Queensland and is on facebook. You could contact him direct. Try AN Nicol

5. catsketcher

catsketcher Senior Member

Escapade had glass beams. The Space frame beams were on some of Lex' other boats. Fire Truck was a very different boat from Escapade. She had no sisterships I can recall. She was alloy whereas Escapade was glass.

cheers

Phil

6. Corley

Corley epoxy coated