Leeboard on small skiff

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by hospadar, Jul 20, 2011.

1. hospadar

hospadar Junior Member

I'm going to be installing a leeboard on a small skiff. The sides of the skiff are raked out (at about a 105 deg. angle), so if I bolt the leeboard flat to the side it won't be perpendicular to the water.

I'm wondering if it's worth it to put spacers on the hull (down by the waterline probably, I'm imagining a ripped-down strip of 2x4) to get the leeboard to be more perpendicular to the water.

It's just a little 12' fun boat It's my first build so simplicity is more important than maximum speed, but if the rake in the leeboard is really going to hurt my ability to sail, then I'd like to get that straightened out.

Another question I have is about positioning the center of effort of the sails with relation to the leeboard.

I've read that the CE should be forward of the centerboard, but I've also heard that with leeboards, the CE should be right on top of the leeboard. Again, this isn't that important, I don't care if I have a little weather helm or imperfect performance, I'm just wondering how much it matters.

Thanks again - I can't wait to sail this puppy!

2. CutOnce

CutOnce Previous Member

I'd just clamp it on and try it on a light day. That way you could move it around till it felt right. Once you determine empirically where it belongs, you could then get fancier with the hull standoff etc.

It's small enough that you can experiment.

--
    CutOnce

3. BATAAN

BATAAN Senior Member

In Peru they take a piece of 1 X 10 maybe 5 or 6 feet long, nail a crosswise 24" 2 X 2 to one side about 12"-18" down from the top, and nail on a piece of lead sheet to the other end to weight it so it does not float. This stuff is often scavenged from pallets or old buildings.
    A hole is drilled in the top of the 1X10 and another in the middle of the appropriate thwart. A piece of 3/8" rope with stopper knots connects the two holes.