Looking to build a one of a kind

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by BJKohlleppel, Aug 7, 2011.

1. BJKohlleppel

BJKohlleppel New Member

Might as well jump in and introduce myself. My name is Bill and I've never built a boat in my life. If you check on my profile you will see that I am a security officer by trade, with a side hobby in costuming. I am a prop maker (novice leather worker). To explain the costuming thing, I got into it because I am a huge fan of Star Wars. Local Star Wars costuming clubs focus on raising money for children's charities. That set well with me since I had a brother who died of Leukemia, when he was 7.

At any rate, my costuming has taken me into the world of GI JOE (A Real American Hero), and since I am a novice leather worker, I've taken the plunge to learn all I can on seeing to the feasibility in building a real life rendition of one of the GI JOE vehicles that I grew up with.

This is no joke. I am seriously looking into building a full-size, real working replica of the GI JOE "Devilfish". I searched for a boat building forum and found this place. So I hope I have found myself a good source to reference in pulling off this project.

For those who don't know what the Devilfish looks like, allow me to show you:
    http://www.yojoe.com/vehicles/86/devilfish/

I think I may have a rough idea of how to pull it off. But I am not too proud to gauge the collective opinion of those who are more skilled in this craft, than me. I was thinking that I would build a basic frame out of plywood and 2x4's. But the main question I have with that plan of attack is how thick should the plywood be? Of course I would utilize some sort of marine grade resin to coat and seal the hull of the vessel.

Any idea on what type of boat I could use as a basis for this project?