Leaking Minimost Overhaul

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Canaduke, Apr 8, 2007.

1. Canaduke

Canaduke Junior Member

Hi there, this is my first post, and I'm new to boat building but I've been reading all the posts for awhile now.

My dad built what I think is a "Minimost" (http://www.svensons.com/boat/?p=HydroPlanes/minimost) about thirty five years ago. Its built with regular cheap plywood and painted inside and out with Marine Paint.

After so many years of good service, and I'm sure much neglect, it leaks where the transom attaches to the rest of the boat on the bottom and both sides. In addition the front two pieces of plywood that were nailed together have began pulling apart and there is a small gap. Finally, along the cut in the bottom that I suppose was required to bend the bottom sheet of ply to make a curved hull, it also leaks. The wood seems in decent shape with some small "dry rot" in places.

I began the task of sanding it down a few years ago and hope to finish the refurbishing this summer, because we just purchased a new outboard I want to try :cool: .

My dad suggested to fiberglass the leaky seams with fiberglass cloth and resin. Then resin over all of the outside of the boat, grind that down and paint over top of it. I don't think this will trap all the moisture in because I plan to leave the inside of the boat raw. Is this a good Idea? Should I use fiberglass cloth or mat? I've heard conflicting reports and I really don't know the difference between the two. I plan on using EPOXY resin, because if its one thing I've learned reading these forums here, that its worth it to spend the extra dough and get a two-part? epoxy resin. Can you recomend a brand?