Leak Near Center Board Box

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Dutchie2012, Feb 10, 2012.

1. Dutchie2012

Dutchie2012 New Member

My name is Andre I'm originally from Holland and I live with my family in Tauranga New Zealand and this is my first time on a forum about boats.
    Here's my problem:
    I have restored (painted and repaired) an 30+ old Hartley Trailer Sailer 18ft with a center board and drop keel (is that spelled right?) After taking it on the water several times it appears that the there is a leak where the box meets the hull or bottom of the boat. The exact location is at the very end of the box (back of the boat) where the center beam on the bottom of the hull (inside the boat) I have drawn a picture it is attached as a JPG file, Any suggestions on how to fix this would be welcome, thanks heaps/tons if you're american :)

Attached Files:

2. troy2000

troy2000 Senior Member

I'm not a professional. But until they get here and weigh in, I'll put in my two cents worth.

Seems to me you need to unbolt and remove the centerboard case, so you can see why it's leaking. If it's just a matter of the bedding giving out you can clean the surfaces, apply a new layer, and bolt everything down again. On the other hand, you may have a rot pocket in the hull or case at that point, which will need to be repaired. How you do it depends on what you find when you open it up.

I wouldn't try to seal the leak from the inside. Even if you succeed, the hull and case would still be getting soaked where the water enters.

3. Ike

Ike Senior Member