laying fiberglass on vertical surfaces/adding fillers

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by old man, Aug 15, 2007.

1. old man

old man Junior Member

I have fiberglassed decks, engine boxes, etc... But i am no expert in glass work.

If I am applying fiberglass to a vertical surface do I need to add a filler to thicken the epoxy so it wont run? What is the best method to apply epoxy to vertical surfaces without it running? I will be using a brush/sqeegy.

Second question, for the final coat of epoxy (3rd coat uaually), should I add a low density filler to make sanding easier? This is not yacht quality work, its an old workboat. I dont need it to look like a mirror, just trying to get it looking halfway decent.
    Thanks for all your help.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I use two different approaches. The one most commonly used by folks, is to wetout the surface with a uniformly thin coat of unthickened goo, then let it get tacky, which depending on humidity and temperature can be a few minutes to an hour. While tacky, it will hold your cloth and a fresh batch of unthickened epoxy applied over the now tacked down fabric. Wetout the fabric completely, with the squeegee, but just enough to wet the fabric. When this gets tacky or just after it's been tacky (green stage) then apply another coating of unthickened goo, to fill the fabric weave. Sometimes it takes more the one coating to fill the weave, but each can be done (work thin) during the "green stage" which is the best time, as it provides a chemical bond (which is the best kind).