Layers of fiberglass

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Mrdennis, Jul 7, 2007.

1. Mrdennis

Mrdennis Junior Member

Im new to boat building, but my plan is to build a 10 1/2 ft power boat. I have one already that I got used but needs some repairs. I want to make a mold from the hull that I have. But I dont know how may layers of fiber glass I should use to make the mold. Also, I want to know how many layers I should use to make the hull itself, also the topside of the boat. Any info would be great.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Hi Mrdennis,

Molds are pretty heavy, and reinforced with female molds made from such as plywood, steel, etc.. A mold is a production item. Why would you want to make a mold, when it is a very time-consuming and expensive project? Are you interested in selling a few boats?

Alan

3. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

What about the copyrights?
    If the boat is still in production you can get in trouble if you copy it.

4. Mrdennis

Mrdennis Junior Member

The long term goal is to produce my own boat/boats. I guess my idea was simply to build the mold, and make a copy or two. So I would familiarize myself with the building process, without having to go through the research and development of starting from scratch. As for the copyrights, the boat's design looks very dated, like from the early 80's. But I havent a clue as to who made it. But i dont really plan on making money on these, its mostly for the experiance. How much do you think it would cost to set up a mold?

5. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Your money's going to be in the mat and resin. Your time will be far in excess of the eventual layup of a finished boat. It is certainly a good experience to go through, and you'll learn a lot. In that sense, it's all positives. There are books others could recommend, ways to avoid common pitfalls.