Full Rigged Catamaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Mithris, Jan 19, 2016.

1. Mithris

Mithris Junior Member

Hey guys,

I'm an author and am doing a little research. I was wondering how a fully rigged, steel, Catamaran would work. Its purpose would be to make voyages from Spain to India via the Horn of Africa. It would need to be able to carry cargo or troops. It would have two or three decks.

Have any of you ever heard of a fully rigged cat? I've never even heard of one that's square rigged, let alone fully rigged. It would be 100x50 feet. Three masts along the centerline, aft mast has a barque main sail and then square topsails, topgallant, and royals. Topsails and topgallants are split, fore and main mast have skysails.

Thanks to anyone who responds.

2. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

What do you mean by fully rigged boat?
    Any boat that works is "fully" rigged by definition.

Sounds like something you should put a motor on.
    Cats need to be light to have any benefits over monohulls, and Cats have less load carrying ability for a given size.

The description you give will have almost no ability to go into the wind, a lot like the old square rigged boats. That was what often killed them, they got caught offshore when the wind changed and they could not sail away.

3. Mithris

Mithris Junior Member

Fully rigged: Three square rigged masts with at least topgallant. The story, its about a group of Americans that are sent back in time to 2500 BC. Three hundred fifty years later they are building a navy. They don't remember how to build internal combustion engines, their electricity is provided by steam power, but they can not bring any of that technology outside of their borders. So if they want to go to the Persian Gulf via ship they have to sail.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member