Career Path Advice Requested..Engineering

Discussion in 'Services & Employment' started by BankD, Jul 18, 2007.

1. BankD

BankD New Member

Hello,

I am a Mechanical Engineer for almost 2 decades and have been a boating "hobbyist" for 30 years. I've worked in designing electronic enclosures (sheetmetal), thermal design, manufacturing engineering because that is the work that was available in the region I live in. There are just a small handful of shipyards nearby, and nobody is doing new construction in this region of the country. I've been fascinated mainly with the construction of boats since I was quite young. I love the creative process, from concept, development, and fabrication. My father was a metal worker, so I grew up working with my hands, wrenching, woodworking, machining, etc. I've built a few smallboats and am restoring a 7 ton wooden boat. Lately I've been doing a lot of work in designing/building/overhauling systems for my new diesel engine (tanks, fuel filtering system, controls, ventilation, custom exhaust etc).

My favorite reading includes Chappelle, Gardner, Beuhler, Monk, Bolger, Colver, etc. I read "Professional Boatbuilder" and Woodenboat, as well as "Sail", Latitude38, etc. Yes, I've very technical. I am thinking of going back to school to study some Naval Architecture. My grades as an undergrad BSME are not good enough to get me into a "proper" Naval Architecture Graduate Studies degree, so I've looked at the schools that offer "Naval Design" coursework. It is not so much that I want to DESIGN boats, and much as I want to be involved in the construction/manufacturing of them.

My practical knowledge covers mass production products, as well as small volume, high cost, high complexity electromechanical stuff. Dealing with a myriad of vendors to keep the parts and subassembly quality high and cost low has been the meat-and-potatotes of my existence. I'm guessing this translates well into the needs of a production boatyard.