laminating veneer onto fiberglass?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by ruriksson, Aug 18, 2013.

1. ruriksson

ruriksson New Member

Hi All,

I'm a nascent boat builder. Long story short: I had intended to build a Haven 12.5 but found a Carl Alberg Bristol Corinthian on Craigslist, so I decided for my first project it might be easier to restore than to build from scratch. With her curving shear lines and full keel, she has the silhouette of those Victorian to pre-WWII era boats that I like. (I was actually looking at a John Alden wooden boat on Craigslist, but was advised against trying to restore a wooden hull for my first project boat.) So John Alden's protegé was the next best thing.

As such, I'd still really like to have a classic wooden boat look. Is it possible for me to laminate wood veneer onto the fiberglass (after it's been sanded and prepared etc.) I'd like to veneer the transom and the cabin. (I'd really like to experiment with some marquetry for the transom, in the very least the name in a contrasting species.) I'd be willing to lay glass cloth over it as added measure. I also want to cover the deck with teak but will likely buy the prepare teak decking and just cut to fit the shape rather than spring plank. (I read in some yacht design book, that for boats under a certain length the decking should run straight anyway.) The last bit would be to take off the plastic rubrail and replace with teak somehow in small lengths so I could swap them out as they got dinged. I wouldn't try to laminate the hull, it would just get a new gel coat.

Do you think this extra decking material and the veneering will add significant weight to the boat? There isn't all that much deck any. But I don't know what that pre-fabbed decking weights. I read somewhere, that the backer is some sort of cement board like the stuff used in bathrooms? Is that true?