Boat Buying Help¿

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Fishnman, Jul 17, 2005.

1. Fishnman

Fishnman Junior Member

Just join and would like to say Hello to all fellow seamen. I am getting readdy to retire and my plan is to get a Sailboat and travel the Bahamas to
    South America and to Maine and Newfoundland. I dont have any plans to cross the big pond to Europe. I think I want something around 45' and plan to spend around $250,000.00 for a boat. People say that Catalinas / Hunters are not your "blue water boats" but they seem to be very attrative to me. My wife and I really dont like the DARK teak in some of the older boats ie Morgans, but really like that Design. I dont know much about a bolt on Keel as oppose to a built-in design. How much impact can either take. I am new to saling but have been a serious power boater for 30 yrs. I think alot of sailing has to do with a lot of "Commen Sence". What makes a "Blue Water" boat? Please just give postive reprots and hope this thread does not get into who has the best boat. Thanks

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Catalinas are great at the dock. They are desiged primarily for room inside and to look good at the boat shows. At sea, in rough weather, a tighter interior design is much superior. Also, those huge cockpit and companionways only take one large wave to completely swamp the boat. As for keel design, either one is good when properly built. I think that a smaller boat 25-27' would be a more sensible option to see if you actually like sailing.
    A 45 footer in a blow is a handlful to control. Are you and your wife experienced enough?

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder