laminate calculations

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by haus, Oct 22, 2008.

1. haus

haus New Member

Hi all !

Newbie here, but a long time lurker....

A little background: I am an engineer and I primarily work on vintage racecars....however, I have always had a fond love for boats. While working
    on my degrees I completed several composite type courses. Lately I decided to play around with some boat calculations, but I have found some discrepancy's between the formulas that I am familiar with when I compare them to the limited amount of "boat design formulas" that I have found.

I recall calculating centroids, moment of inertia and section modulus back in school. At that time we used these formulas on structures/materials like beams, tubes, pilings...etc etc. Now I would like to apply these equations to a laminates, but it seems as thought some of the terminology is different.

From what i have found:

-The moment of inertia (2nd moment of inertia) = I=bd^3/12 for rect. cross sections.
    -SM=Z=I/Y

Question: wouldn't you need the final dimensions of a laminate in order to solve for these parameters ? especially the neutral axis (centroid) ?

I would like to screw around with these equations just for fun...if anyone can give me an example of how they are used for simple laminate boat design I would be more than grateful !

Thanks-

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

The basic principles apply but the formulas you have for homogenous sections are not applicable. In a foam laminate you have a soft core that separates the main stress carrying fabric. Usually these are so thin relative to overall thickness of the laminate that they can be assumed as "thin" sheets separated by the thickness of the core.