Fiberglassing problem

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by schlump, Oct 11, 2014.

1. schlump

schlump New Member

I am in the process of fiberglassing a 12' custom wooden pirogue using West system epoxy. The bottom of the boat has 3- 5/16" x1-1/2" skid rails running from bow to stern. My problem is air pockets forming along the edges of the rails where the cloth bends up and over when I'm wetting it out. I experimented with a small section and its terrible. Any suggestions or advice would be most appreciated. This is my first attempt. Thank you.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

What weight cloth are you using? Fiberglass will not bend 90 degrees. The proper solution is to make a fillet to fill in the inside angle.

3. schlump

schlump New Member

I'm not too sure of the weight of the cloth but it's pretty heavy. I got it from West Marine and just called the sales guy who sold it to me and even he wasn't sure. I do believe your suggestion for the fillets will be the solution to my problem I feel confident. Would it be advisable to use the West System epoxy for the fillet or is there a better filler - technique?
    Thank you for the prompt reply.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

It sounds like you have too tight a radius at the intersection of the rub strips and bottom. This is solved with a cosmetic fillet, along the edge, where the rub meets the bottom planking. This fillet allows the cloth to lie down neatly, without puckers or bubbles. On a 2x4 rub strip, you'll want a 3/4" tall fillet, generally, so mix up some fairing compound (west System 407 or 410 works nice, as does System Three "Quick Fair") and smear a nice 3/4" tall radius along the seam, then you're good for the cloth. It's preferable to apply the cloth while the fillet is still wet or just past tacky, so the cloth bonds to it as well as the boat.

5. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member