trimaran hull shapes

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by harrygee, Aug 6, 2012.

1. harrygee

harrygee Junior Member

Hi All

I'm planning to build a new main hull for my existing 27 foot tri, which currently has a Soling keel-boat hull as the main hull. I've been sailing the converted Soling for a few years and it's done everything that I could've asked but it does have an issue with trying to exceed the hull speed. It does 15 knots easily enough if there's enough wind but it throws a lot of water around in moderate conditions before it gets going.
    I had planned to build a long, skinny, rounded shape but several modern tris that I've looked at have near-flat sections aft, some having flat sections for most of their length. I can see that a boat will tack easier with flat sections, will have better floor space for a boat with accommodation, will trail better and will tolerate loading but is there any speed advantage, compared with, say, an egg-shell shape?
    I realize that I'll lose some of the handling of the existing boat, which tacks and sails donuts like nothing else I've sailed. I use the boat for round-the-buoys racing and just blasting around.
    I'm an experienced builder and will probably build with solid glass over a male mold, for economy.
    Basic specs, existing boat; 27' loa, 20' lwl, 19' boa, 780 kgs (I expect to lose 100 kg), 13" draft (4' board down), sail area 310 sq ft, cost very little so far.
    Thanks for any input.
    Harry

2. Corley

Corley epoxy coated