Mold from lines

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by corkzak, Sep 24, 2013.

1. corkzak

corkzak New Member

Hello

I have the lines for a st Lawrence skiff and the table of offset figures. The question I am asking is what lines do I use to work out the molds for the hull. Plus I have no idea what the offset figures mean as i am a complete novice. The lines have four sketches top side front and bottom view.

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Search for threads on "Lofting".

Read the Chapter 16 on Lofting in The Gougeon Brothers on Boat Construction. It's available for free download at http://www.westsystem.com/ss/assets/HowTo-Publications/GougeonBook 061205.pdf

Which St Lawrence River Skiff do you have lines and offsets for?

Do you have any experience with building boats?

What type of construction are you planning?

3. bregalad

bregalad Senior Member

You really need to find a tutorial on lofting. I believe several have been mentioned in threads here.... do a search.

The offsets allow you to reproduce the 'lines' full size. I presume those are among the drawings you have. The idea is that as you fair the various slices of the hull (sections, waterlines, buttocks and perhaps some parts) full size you will find and correct errors that may be there in small scale drawings, where the thickness of a pencil line represents a significant fraction of an inch. In most cases computer generated lines and offsets would be more accurate.

It should say somewhere whether the lines are to the inside or the outside of the planking. These days it's common that they would be to the outside of the planking. Not too many years ago some designers/builders drew plans to the inside of the planking. Pete Culler, for one, comes to mind.

There is a thread on building a St. Lawrence Skiff skiff here:
    http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthread.php?123022-St-lawrence-river-skiff

If you look at this picture http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5168/5322497305_c20991549e_z.jpg