Kevlar vs Fiber Glass

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Mholmes3038, Sep 25, 2022.

1. Mholmes3038

Mholmes3038 Junior Member

I recently learned you can use kevlar over fiber glass. As I understand kevlar is a lot stiffer then fiber glass and you will need less coats. So what is more important on a boat stiffness or flexibility? I plan on sailing on blue water at some point but I want to build the safest boat I can for rivers and blue water. So I want to start off on the right track. However, I've also heard kevlar is overkill? I'm no pro please post your thoughts.

2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

When Kevlar first became available, there were lots of enthusiasts who believed it to be a wonder product that would revolutionize the industry.

It mostly failed to live up to the initial expectations.

Because it is very difficult to work with in composite construction, few will voluntarily use it in a second project.

duluthboats and comfisherman like this.
  3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

Kevlar does not sand very easily in resin. It tends to make a hairy blob of fibers. For this reason, its uses are limited. It may also float in a laminate stack or so I'm told. I did not experience this because I buried it, so never saw any evidence.

I used it in two places in my build.

The beaching keels. I buried one piece of kevlar in a stack of 8 layers of 1708. This piece is designed as a failsafe abrasion measure. Should the beaching keel lose her sacrificial timber and either I don't see it or it happens due to grounding on a reef, I would have some extra protection for the hull.

On the helm, I used red aramid/carbon for a decorative addition. 7F6EE86B-F4AF-4417-89C9-68B9226C3234.jpeg

DogCavalry likes this.
  4. wet feet

wet feet Senior Member