plywood racers

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by rapscallion, Jul 29, 2014.

1. rapscallion

rapscallion Senior Member

I've always had an interest in racing multihulls built from plywood. I like the idea of building a trimaran out of wood that would be fast enough to compete against multis raced in that size range.

The success of the i550 design leads me to believe a 21' to 25' trimaran should see some success in fleet building. I'm not sure why it hasn't happened already in the U.S.

This is along the lines of what I had in mind. Are there any other interesting plywood racing designs out there?

http://www.syasperformance.com/75m-trimaran-plywood.html

The L7 is also a great design, light, fast and had a folding system that was easy to build as a home builder.

The 8.5 box rule is successful down under, why don't we see a home built multi class in the states?

2. rcnesneg

rcnesneg Senior Member

I like the idea. Speaking for myself as a builder, I would want to make modifications to it and that might make it not class-legal any more.

3. rapscallion

rapscallion Senior Member

The same issues came up with the i550 class, and they seemed to have worked through it.

4. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Looks like an illustration.
    Not enough to convince me it is a completed design.

We have seen quite a few illustrations that never get past this stage.

5. Gary Baigent

Gary Baigent Senior Member

Here's 8x8metre Sid.

Attached Files:

6. R.Finn

R.Finn Junior Member

Gary, do you have any video of your bird sailing? That is quite a tall rig in that picture. It looks like an old C-class rig.

Thanks.

-R

7. Gary Baigent

Gary Baigent Senior Member

There is some pretty average Gopro stuff I shot; just search for Sid here or Google Sid video. The old sail is a combination of a B Class with lower section of Hobie 16 main sewed together 11.2 metre luff ... but my new North square top main and reacher are ready - for when the new mast goes up.