Just how hard are the math in boat design?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by GNicol, Aug 14, 2009.

1. GNicol

GNicol New Member

Hello all, i am very new to this field and this site. I have a question , i hope some one can help. I have enrolled on a betec diploma in boat design. Being 42 years old , it is a long time since i did any real math, and if i recal wasent that hot on the first time round. My question is just how difficult are the math involed in modern boat desin. Any answers/suggestions will be appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Gary

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Gary

It depends upon the depth of the BTec and also your own current level.
    If you just scraped through CSE as it was then, with say a grade 4, you may find it tough. If you got a cse grade 1 or 2, not so tricky, but may push you a bit. If you got an O'level, as we call them, then you should not have too many problems. If you got an A/O or A'level...piece of cake.

The BTec, i assume will cover the basics of design, which is not terribly tricky, just some algebra in places, but the rest is simple.

3. GNicol

GNicol New Member

Many many thanks

Thank you Adhoc for your reply, I did manage a cse level 2, but just to have a reply really helped me, thanks again. I am a firm believer that if you want something you have to be prepared to work hard for it, so back to maths at night school. I don’t know what it is about boats, but until last year i had never even been on one, but before you know it , you’re hooked. Maybe it’s the freedom and beauty of the actual design?

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Gary

well, i hope that long may it continue...welcome aboard as such.
    If you have any questions during your BTec, just ask away.

5. joz

joz Senior Member

6. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Gary, welcome aboard the forum :)