Barrelback runabout in Fibreglass foam sandwich

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by dantesta, Jun 24, 2009.

1. dantesta

dantesta New Member

Hi Fellow boat builders

Need advice on Fibreglass foam core boat building!
    I’m embarking on building a Ken Hankinson designed Barrelback 19 foot hacker style runabout.
    For all you traditionalists I’ll apologise in advance – I’m planning to build the hull in fibreglass foam sandwich. Here are my reasons why:
    1. I live in Australia and the price for good Marine Ply/timber and epoxy is outrageous
    2. The boat will be used by my extended family and I don’t want the beautiful timber bright-work dinged when being taken in and out of my boat house or smacked against the dock – It’s easier to bog up a glass hull then trying to fix a timber finish.
    I have built in fibreglass before but I’m not an expert and not had much experience in foam core. The Hankinson plans are for ply/epoxy construction but I plan to build in foam core - male mould using Hankinson plans, stitch/ fasten the foam sheets and then glass over using Vinyl ester (not epoxy).
    Can someone give me some advice on?
    1. What Layup schedule I should consider both inside and out – I want the boat relatively light but strong enough as it will have a V8 powering it. The local fibreglass/foam suppliers won’t give me any help here as they are worried that if they give advice and the hull turns out to be a unsound that they will get sued
    2. Advice on the type of foam sheet to use – I’m considering Divinycell range of polymer foam cores or similar. What thickness, fastening tricks, best way to lay up to get the best possible foam to fibreglass bond, steps to avoid de lamination.
    3. Whatever other advice you can give! And any good web sites to visit
    Cheers
    Dan

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder