cartop design suggestions

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ed Island Bound, Dec 9, 2009.

1. Ed Island Bound

Ed Island Bound New Member

Dear Forum,
    I am looking for suggestions for plans for a cartopping boat powered by motor and oars. As I am a novice boat builder with modest woodworking skills, I plan on using the stitch and glue method of construction. Besides having been interested in building a boat for some time, the prime motivation for this particular boat is to allow me to access barrier islands on the Gulf coast of Texas. The water that I need to navigate is shallow and protected from the open Gulf, but prone to chop and wind. I would like to be able to make the crossing in under an hour, so the boat needs to be capable of 8 mph, preferably 10, while loaded with 2 people plus camping gear (minimum people +gear 400 lbs). I would also like to able to row it although I recognize that these desires are somewhat in conflict. Finally it needs to be not prone to swamping or capsizing if the wind should come up. To cartop it, I need it to be no more than 100 pounds and have a maximum beam of about 50”. I have considered a motor canoe design, but as I understand it, the maximum speed of these displacement hulls is set by length and for common lengths should be about 6 mph. Any ideas / suggestions? Am I trying to square a circle? Input is very appreciated.

2. Ike

Ike Senior Member

3. troy2000

troy2000 Senior Member

John Gardner designed a nice 11' cartop semi-dory, that was planked with lapstrake 1/4" plywood (if I remember right). The plans are in both The Dory Book and Building Classic Small Craft.

My copy of each seems to have wandered off to Oklahoma with my nephew when he moved back there this year, or I'd scan the plans and send them; I seriously doubt Gardner would disapprove if he were still around.