daysail trimaran restoration project questions

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Siphon, Nov 3, 2013.

1. Siphon

Siphon New Member

I recently moved to Columbia, SC and in my exploring I came across an old daysail trimaran in need of restoration. I've got some experience with rebuilds having restored my '79 Mutineer Champion Series. This trimaran was found rotting away on the lawn of the local boatyard. The Fish & Games tag dates 7-82, so I know it is at least that old. The shrouds are frayed or bent, lines rotted away, and some of the metal fittings rusted. The trailer is in need of repair too. I know it's been sitting for at least a couple decades, as evidenced by the 10' tree growing between the main hull and pontoon... What I'm unsure of is whether this find[is honestly worth the effort. So I've got a few questions I was hoping to get guidance from here:
    1) How do I figure out the make, model, year of this boat?
    2) How do I determine an offering price? The guy at the boat yard tried to tell me $1,500. I can't imagine it's worth that much.
    3) Aside from the obvious shrouds, lines, electrical wiring and rusty fittings that will need replacing any other additional surprises I should look for to determine if this craft is salvageable?

IMAG0202.jpg

IMAG0194.jpg

IMAG0198.jpg

IMAG0196.jpg

2. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

I bought a monohull dinghy in a similar state a year ago for USD150, basically for the mast and boom

I'd start by saying that "it is a real eyesore and I'll take off your hands for nothing" Certainly I wouldn't pay more than USD150. It will be a lot of work to tidy up, and sails will cost you, even if you buy old Hobie sails

you'll have to post dimensions etc to help us decide what design it is

Richard Woods of Woods Designs

www.sailingcatamarans.com

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member