Jap vs. Japanese offensive or common abbreviation (split from Copied Hull thread)

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Chris Ostlind, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chris Ostlind

Chris Ostlind Previous Member

What, exactly, does "jap" mean... RHP?

If it is, could you please not use the "Nip" reference for products and people originating in the Japanese nation?

You, of course, can think anything you want in private, but I would suggest that this is not going to get it here with our International audience of contributors.

I do get that you are trying to make a point regarding possible copycat design issues from thirty years ago in the motorcycle trade... even though I do not agree with the position.

I was a motorcycle photographer/journalist for 7 years back then and the overwhelming majority of products produced from the Japanese manufacturers were original and ultimately, so dominant, that they completely overwhelmed the nearly stagnant American, as well as, British makers who had controlled the US and International markets for some goodly time.

I'd love to continue the discourse with you on this level, but because this is a boat design forum, I'd ask that you write me, off list, to continue the discussion. You can send me an email by clicking on my name above and selecting the appropriate option.

Regards,

Chris O

2. kerosene

kerosene Senior Member

not only the "jap" BUT Honda led the innovation on motorbikes for years. Honda cb750 (introduced 1969) was truly revolutionary. First mass produced (if any) motorbike with 4 cylinder engine, 1st production bike with disc brakes. In 70s honda's engineering was ahead of any european or american manufacturers - their dohc engines were bullet proof.

Later yamaha's XS 2-cylinder engines proved out to be totally rock solid too.