Please help identify sailboat hull design?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by randymacbc, Jun 5, 2008.

1. randymacbc

randymacbc New Member

Howdy all
    I wonder if anybody can identify the design of this hull? Its a 30 footer with a 10' beam that was custom built I believe and never rigged. I'm a cabinet maker by trade and not a boat builder but this looks like a well built hull and deck that I am considering picking up and working on but no plans are available and the original builder has passed away so there is no information available to me as to the design. Its a little hard to start talking to people about rigging without knowing what to call her.

Attached Files:

2. amolitor

amolitor Junior Member

It looks like a piece of crap with negative value, to me.

The keel is weirdly tiny, and it looks suspiciously like someone has hacked out part of whatever it was made of first and replaced it with a hunk of lead(?) in a (probably hopeless) effort to make the thing stay upright.

Most of these "project boats" are merely money pits.

If it had actually sailed at one point in its life, it might be a fun project to bring back to life -- still a big financial loss, but educational and fun if you're in to that kind of thing. If it did ever sail, I bet it sailed badly.

If, as you suggest, it never did sail, I suspect that it also never will sail. The underbody just looks wrong, and in the absence of evidence to the contrary, I think it IS just wrong.

3. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

It looks like it could be a John Brandylmeir (sp?) design. He is or was a well known BC yacht designer and his boats sailed really well. But I don't know anything about this particular design. I am sure there are a lot of people in BC that can tell you something, you just have to search them out. Maybe Google can help, too.

4. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

I should have Googled before posting.... his name is John Brandlmayr.

5. amolitor

amolitor Junior Member