Definition of unsupported span

Discussion in 'Class Societies' started by DUCRUY Jacques, Feb 26, 2011.

1. DUCRUY Jacques

DUCRUY Jacques Junior Member

Hello,

I have a little problem for the definition of "unsupported span" for a transverse frame.

On a sailboat (ABS ORY and ISO are agree !), this is the chord length between the support points (i.e. between end of floor and gunwale).

But it seems that for the english and the german Lloyds, the definition is not the same : the span of the transverse frame is slitted in two parts : bottom frame between centerline and turn of bilge, and side frame between turn of bilge and gunwale ; if this definition seems logical for a motor boat (V hull) ; what do you think for a sailboat ?

Thank you inadvance

Best Regards

Jacques

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

I am an engineer that has worked with the GL requirments. It appears purpose of the GL definition is to recognize the "arch" effect of curved rib. In an arch you have the ends in compression, and bending loads in the center. On a pure simple supported beam you get bending in the center and shear at the ends. The older English standard is an over simplification of a complex loading condition. I would speculate than the more modern GL breaks the rib length down differently to take advantage of the extra strength that can be achieved with a more detailed look at the load conditions, saving weight and material cost.

3. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Jacques

There is no confusion.

You need to understand what the structural member is doing and what it is supporting. For example, if you have a member that is straight and is supported at each end and this span is say 2.0, clearly the span is 2.0m between the supports.