Feather Transverse Flex w/ Maxsurf

Discussion in 'Software' started by Yacht Skipper, Apr 24, 2006.

1. Yacht Skipper

Yacht Skipper Junior Member

Is it possible to feather the transverse Flex with maxsurf in order to start with round bilge at the bow and end up with hard chines toward the stern.
    How is there any other ways to do this ?

Thanks

2. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

YS you can get a chine at the stern by compacting a number of points into one and adjusting the weighting and stiffness.

3. Yacht Skipper

Thanks

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
    I'm new to CAD and it seems that I will never finish to learn...

4. Yacht Skipper

Hey Nautika, I really tried several times, but end up with something impossible to fair and the chines were not sharp at all.
    Any tutorials on how to do it ?
    Or is there a software outthere where I could set a different transverse flex for each sections ?

Thanks

5. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

YS is this the sort of thing your after?

Attached Files:

6. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

YS Just another thought, you could also bond two or more surfaces with the same longitudinal stiffness but different transverse. Then do a mix of different methods

Attached Files:

7. Yacht Skipper

Thanks for your help Nautika, I really appreciate.
    What I'm trying to accomplish is something like the attachment.
    How would you do it ?

Attached Files:

8. Andrew Mason

Andrew Mason Senior Member

The key to compacting points to form chines or knuckles is to use the right number - the higher the order of the surface (i.e. the stiffer) in the transverse direction, the more points you need.

The rule is that the number of control points you need to compact is one less than the order. So an order 4 surface needs 3 control points compacted together, an order 6 surface needs 5 control points compacted together.