Amateur trimaran design critique

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by MrMillard, Dec 1, 2021.

1. MrMillard

MrMillard Trimaran 7

Hi!

I'm a complete amateur who got the inspiration some time ago to design a boat I could one day realistically build should the circumstances allow it. After much doodling and many size and hull-shape changes I now have a complete sketch I am brave enough to share. I would like your honest opinions and constructive critique if you have the time and inclination.

I am a novice regarding all things boat related and certainly no naval architect, so no real engineering calculations have been done. Bear all this in mind and try to be nice, please!

First a little background:

Type:
    I first decided on a sailboat for the some of the following reasons;
    - environmental impact
    - autonomy and endurance
    - learning opportunities
    - romantic charm

Size:
    Having read how monumental a task it is to build, own and maintain a boat, especially a large one, I decided that small (subjective) would be most realistic. The smaller that I felt comfortable with, the better. However, I am quite tall and loathe being hunched over and would like to be able to cruise. These are my requirements;
    - <11m/35 feet length
    - at least 2m/6'6" headroom
    - trailerable (<260cm/8'6" beam)
    - fits 40 foot container for shipping
    - at least 4 berths (preferably 6-8)
    - good size galley
    - on board shower and head

Hull form:
    Except for the most obvious drawback of small boats, lack of space, I've read that they are almost agonizingly slow. This is especially true for cruising as opposed to racing designs.
    So how do you make a small trailerable boat faster? You make it a trimaran! That is the conclusion I've found researching sailboats. Unfortunately trimarans tend to be even less spacious than their monohull siblings for a given length, so some out of the box design may be necessary.

Systems/equipment/rig: