Shaft log bearings ?

Discussion in 'Surface Drives' started by Speeedy6, May 17, 2023.

1. Speeedy6

Speeedy6 New Member

Ok , I'm about to order some parts to build a shaft log for a 16' skiff I'm installing a small diesel engine in. I plan on a fixed shaft log from about the center of the boat extending out the transom about a foot to a prop. The prop would be about 75%submerged and would be a sort of surface drive (not a surface drive prop ) with a rudder.
    I don't know anything about an inboard boat but I am a heavy equipment mechanic. I intend to use a 2 inch ID tube with bearings and shaft seals on each end. With grease zerks to completely fill up the tube with grease. My question is , should I use sealed bearings or open bearings ? And I just thought , should I use bronze bushings instead ? The boat would spend most of the time on a trailer with day use only.
    And , would this arrangement with the prop partially out of the water even work ? The engine is a 9hp Hatz. So it would just be a putt putt . I've seen some videos from Denmark and Sweden with ancient ,wooden boats and motors and it looks so relaxing and simple , I want one !
    Any help and suggestions about this arrangement would be appreciated!
    Thank you , Mark

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

To start with, the location of the motor is too far forward. All you need is a cutlass bearing at the wet end and a stuffing box by the transmission. Bearings with grease fittings mean that you will make an oil slick in the water which may earn you a ticket.

bajansailor and jehardiman like this.
  3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member