12x36 houseboat on encapsulated foam

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by livenlearn, Sep 13, 2020.

1. livenlearn

livenlearn Junior Member

Want to build a floating cabin nut I'm no expert and wanted to run it by you guys...
    What I have designed is:
    12'x36' frame of 2x6 c channel

12' floor joists 2"x2" 11ga square tubing tied across with 1" angle iron to hold square.

(5) 7' 2x2 11ga on each side to hold up the upper deck same as lower except perimeter being 2x2 rather than c channel.

The reason for the steel superstructure is so there are no load bearing walls but also due to height restriction...the slip is 14'.5"

And this is why I'm here....
    The cabin will be 28' front porch 6ft and rear 2ft 80" tall to accommodate a sliding door.

I want a bedroom on top 12' so made centered atop the 28ft cabin.

This will bring my height close to 14'

My calculations show that in the end the floatation will be submerged close to halfway..so 12" and the deck will be pretty close to flush with the slip deck.

I cannot find anyone to tell me is 2x2 11ga ok on 12' span? I've tried deflection calculators online but cant comprehend them intelligibly.
    I figure the bottom will be fine as they will be supported by 4' per side floats but the top may bounce....which I could compensate by walls for head and stateroom....not exactely loadbearing just bounce proofing.

Next I think about it being 2ft taller than width...but only 12' so 1/3 total length and almost centered...dont want to tip over!

It will be a cabin...not ever moving in the water.

It will be clad in 3/4 ply so I think itll be sturdy but what do u guys think?

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Livenlearn.

This sounds like an interesting project - however it is difficult to try to visualise what you are proposing, without any drawings or sketches.
    I presume that you must have created some drawings so far - can you maybe post (some of) them on here please?