Is a Santana 22 TOTAL fixer upper the right one?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by totalnewbie, Apr 3, 2006.

1. totalnewbie

totalnewbie New Member

Howdy to all!

I am a novice sailor. Learning from my father on his Norsea 27. Done some big lake sailing and spent 2 weeks in the Sea of Cortez as well. I am hooked on the sport. I have an opportunity to "take over" ownership (at NO COST TO ME) of a Santana 22 on a trailor in good condition. The boat... yikes. Clearly it was a project that didnt really get started. It is full of 250 GALLONS of 5 year old rain water (that means it will float too, right? haha) almost all of the wood is 2nd effort and needs to be rebuilt. there is NO electrical system. It is missing A boom, and sails.

Other considerations... I live in Ohio, the boat, though free, sits in Michigan. I believe there would be a sizeable financial investment just in getting it seaworthy. Then theres the making it "look nice." (the least of my worries, really)

Basically what I get here is a hull, (that appears at first blush to be in decent shape) and a decent trailor.

I need some help from some of you 'saltier' types. Recommendations for working on the Santana? User groups... forums... used gear... Is this the right boat to get into for me? etc.

Should I walk away? Run? Any input will help and be greatly appreciated.

2. AlFink

AlFink Very Happy NorSea 27 Owne

Don't despair, Son, someone will reply to your querry. Someone with far more knowledge about the S22 than I have. And always remember the great old Hawaiian dictum, "For free take - for money waste time."

Pa

3. mholguin

mholguin Junior Member

4. hansp77

hansp77

Time is money, wood rots...

Hello totalnewbie,
    you know from your name,
    I think we might somehow be related....

My advice to you, Having just gone through your whole process of falling in love with the sport, deciding to get a boat and then looking at all sorts, especiially 'project boats' is: