Intuition vs. Science…

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by clodgo, Feb 16, 2008.

1. clodgo

clodgo Senior Member

I know there are allot of professional nautical engineers on this site, as well as students, architects, and amateur, first time, back-yard boat builders. My question to everyone is; how much do you rely on intuition, and/or science, in the process of designing a boat?

Chris

2. artemis

artemis Steamboater

Don't believe in none of that science stuff here. Creationism is where it's at. Noah never bilt no boat - God told him how an it floated with a whole bunch a animals aboard for a long time. Reckon all any of us has to do is "hear the word of the Lord" an bild it jest like He says. :p

3. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

I'm an amateur in boat building. Been working with smaller boats a lot (row boats, open outboard boats, a couple of canoes etc). Currently working my biggest so far 33' motorsailer project.
    I rely on intuition with backup. After figuring out what I'm doing (intuitively) I search the backup information needed. And chance my plans if it needs to. It's mostly empirical backup, like it has been working in other designs so it should work here too. Most of the formulas and scantling rules etc are (in my opinion) actually in this category. Not much science to do. Maybe more engineering..

4. TollyWally

TollyWally Senior Member

LOL, Art or science? Chicken or egg. We need go no further than the subject of the proper propeller, engineered choice or trial and error. Put down your money and take your chances.

5. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

Intuition= David Mann.

Science= Everything else that floats and dosent come apart in first 80 mile voyage.

K9

6. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

I am a professional electrical engineer and hobbyist boater.

I lean toward intuition being related more to art than science while engineering underpins design.