Naval architecture majors in Universities.

Discussion in 'Education' started by akashmenon, May 27, 2013.

1. akashmenon

akashmenon Marine Engineer

I am an student from India and I wish to pursue my higher education in the Marine and Naval archetecture field as my dad works in the same.
    I have queries regarding admissions to the 'University of Michigan' in Ann Arbor,MI. I could hardly find out the exact entry requirements- I have an SAT score of 1890(writing:540;reading:610;Math:740). Although the admissions are granted on a holistic basis-numbers are easier to compare! Would this score suffice? I plan to send my application early(early action -admission). I went through their curricula and found the subjects quite interesting. Any advice from graduates or anyone who has whatsoever knowledge regarding Umich?
    I have also considered applying at the Australian maritime college in Tasmania. I would really love to have advice regarding the two universities!
    Thank you.
    Akash M Menon.

2. akashmenon

*architecture (sorry for the mishap)

3. Skyak

Skyak Senior Member

Akashmenon, I have met a number of NA's I respect that went to U of M. It's a fine school that I can only find 2 faults with. 1) they are an hour or two drive from large bodies of water (only water on the horizon) but that gets you to Chicago so OK, and 2) they have a football team with the ugliest imaginable helmets which they wear to their big rivalry game only to be humiliated in defeat year after year. You are tempted to respect them for their spirit in the wake of so many defeats but as they file into the stadium in those hideous helmets fingers raised chanting 'we're number one!' you realize these people suffer from some serious delusions! It seems to be inescapable, so even though you have no interest in american football now, you are certain to graduate with this same sad affliction.

Eric is an NA from U of M and very helpful -drop him a line.