Interceptors vs Tabs

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Willallison, Sep 8, 2009.

1. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

I'm interested to know about the relative efficiency and effectiveness of Interceptors (such as the QL from Volvo) vs traditional trim tabs at lower planing speeds. By lower, I mean in the 10 - 20 knot range.
    Any experiences?

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

They both need speed to work...without a high water velocity, the 'lift' or trimming moment is very little to non-existent.

3. Willallison

Yes - of course - but which works better at lower speeds is what I want to know. Instinctively I would think the tabs would, as they are not reliant on speed to create the angled 'surface area', but I have no data or experience with the interceptors to back that up....

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hmmm.. this is not an easy one to answer in terms of which is better at lower speeds, since there are too many variables. For example, the type of propulsion train will affect the 'suitability' of either. A twin prop boats, for example, would make trim tabs a bit more problematic than an interceptor. Similarly, a surface drive would make the intercept a bit more problematic. The hull shape also plays a part in the choice (which can be tailor made to suit one system over another, but with a resulting lesser efficiency at higher speeds)....and depending upon the final 'top' speed which usually has far more importance than the efficiency at 'lower speeds'. Since neither are very effective in this realm.

What you wish for at lower or slow speeds does not hold true for higher speeds, in terms of efficiency. A pressed down tab, would create more drag than an interceptor, but how much...how far is it pressed down, what size tab...who knows??..it depends upon the hull shape and size of tab and size of interceptor etc But if the tab has some appreciable thickness, this provides 'some' buoyancy and may counter some of the drag....who knows.