Info on NA field???

Discussion in 'Education' started by Lle, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Lle

Lle New Member

Hi,

I am a second year student in the field of Architecture and am interested in diverting to the field of Naval Architecture. I was wondering if continuing with a BArch, I would be able to complete additional educational requirements to pursue a career in NA ,i.e. masters(if thats even possible with a BArch) or associates, or if I would need to transfer from my Architecture studies completely.

I'd appreciate any feedback of information to clarify everything else I've read online!

Thanks!

2. zeroname

zeroname Naval Architect

have u check the course structure of NA ? its not like usual architecture.
    you should have the basic science background.. it will be clear to you if u analyse the courses that offered from year 1 to final year. if u then think u r enough to take them.. then go ahead...
    you have to start from first year of NA ,means need to transfer from architecture completely if want to be a NA ,,

3. welder/fitter

welder/fitter Senior Member

One option would be to transfer to a university that offers naval architecture. As "zeroname" points out, naval architecture is often taught in a different manner to architecture, when taught outside of a university. Still, there is great value in having a degree when wishing to design commercial marine vessels. In fact, the drydocks & shipyards I have worked at require a p.eng. designation.

4. Jeff

Jeff Moderator