Building a boat in a two bedroom apartment

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by speedracer264, Oct 27, 2013.

1. speedracer264

speedracer264 Junior Member

Hey Guys- I've been doing a lot of research and really want to get started with my first project. Only problem is, I dont have any money nor do I have any space, tools or experience.

My question:
    Do you think it would be possible to build a "mock-up" boat in my second bedroom in my apartment (carpeted). Obviously I couldn't use wood or anything like that. I was wondering if cardboard and glue would work?

I am a complete novice so please dont judge me if this is completely insane and would never work. I just want to get an idea of the actual start to finish process, without making the huge investment of tools/materials. This is obviously not something I would ever want to use, I just want to build it to prove to my wife that I can actually build the real thing in the long term.

If its possible, would it teach me the fundamentals? Has anyone ever heard of doing such a thing? Am I insane?

2. dskira

dskira Previous Member

You answered your question ;)

3. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

4. speedracer264

Thanks Michael! That could be a good start for me. I appreciate the advice.

5. El_Guero

El_Guero Previous Member

Knock out the walls, douse everything with glue, and burn down the house.

I hope you realize I was kidding ....

You can even build it with wood - lay down painter's drop, later when you have to clean up, just pick up the drop and throw it away ....

If you do want to go with cheap cardboard instead of wood - use corrugated plastic board .... what you end up with is a usable model .... There are some designs out there intentionally in corrugated plastic board .....

And of course, you can build SOF (Skin on Frame using painter's drop for the skin - not as strong as other skins, but looks very interesting).

Wayne

6. speedracer264