Improving handling in following seas

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by journey, Dec 20, 2009.

1. journey

journey Journey

Hi: I am considering purchasing a Bayliner 2670. It is a 26 foot semidisplacement hull with an 8' beam and quite high freeboard.
    It originally had a small I/O but the one I am looking at has been converted to a 50hp OB on a bracket. Maximum speed is 9kt with a cruise of 7kt.
    Everything I read about this boat is that the wide transom causes it to handle very poorly in following seas.
    Would the addition of a flotation outboard bracket that tapered in at the stern present a smaller stern to the seas and improve handling?

I am no engineer and this might be a really dumb ides but I appreciate your input.

2. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

No.
    This is a pocket cruiser. They are designed for flat lake water. Adding additional floatation in the rear makes them even worse in a following sea and makes them allmost impossible to dock in any kind of current.

K9

3. journey

journey Journey

Kay9 - Thanks for the response. Do you know of another boat that would be approximately this size, is trailer-able and would have better stability in semi protected water? I would be in the Straight of Georgia and other pacific northwest waters.

4. mark775

mark775 Guest

The Straight of Georgia gets gnarly. Not as nice of a boat boat but better suited for a bit more weather are the Trophy series (The one I have been around is the 28'. I have never been aboard, tho. you can outrun more and they do okay in following seas). Whatever you do, you are going to have to pick your weather. IMO, no 20somefoot sportboat can handle some of the wind against tide scenarios there.

5. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member