Importing Autocad Hull into Maxsurf

Discussion in 'Software' started by Noswal, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. Noswal
    Joined: Oct 2011
    Posts: 2
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: US

    Noswal New Member

    I have a 3d model in autocad 2010. It's a hull made of surfaces. I save it as dxf 2007 and try to import it into maxsurf, but nothing shows up.
    Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

    -Nos
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gwboats
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 108
    Likes: 8, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 77
    Location: UK

    gwboats Naval Architect

    Maxsurf

    Noswal,

    Maxsurf will only import DXF files as markers (like a point cloud) not surfaces. Easier to save AutoCAD file as IGES and then import into Maxsurf.
    Hope this helps.

    Cheers,
    Graham
     
  3. Noswal
    Joined: Oct 2011
    Posts: 2
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: US

    Noswal New Member

    Thanks! That did the trick.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.