Questions from a perspective Westlawn student

Discussion in 'Education' started by chrisvs, Jun 7, 2007.

1. chrisvs

chrisvs Junior Member

Questions from a prospective Westlawn student

Hello everyone

I have a few questions regarding a career in yacht design. I am a Mechanical designer/draftsman (graduated from community college and registered as a certified engineering technician here in Canada) with 16 years of experience, and have a broad background designing heavy machinery and equipement for the mining industry.

I am an avid boater and have had a lifelong love for anything to do with boats and the water. I am strongly considering enrolling with Westlawn in the hopes of starting my own business as a subcontract CAD/Design facility working from home once I graduate from the program. I of course would also consider relocating for job prospects from larger design offices or pleasurecraft manufacturers should they arise, and offer decent pay.

My question is, what are the prospects for success based on my current bacground plus a diploma from Westlawn? I would be happy to just start as a caddie doing overload work for other design offices (if that type of work exists) from home on evenings and weekends. Is there a demand for people with this type of credentials in the industry right now? Is there a demand for overload work in the yacht design/small craft design industry? Any opinions would be apreciated.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  2. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

"Prospective Student" I think you meant. :)

Welcome.

Tim

3. chrisvs

chrisvs Junior Member

Oops! Where's spell check when you need it!:D

4. chrisvs

chrisvs Junior Member

Thanks timgoz, I have changed the title.

5. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

I see you,ve not yet recieved any helpful replies.

Sort of a hard question as there are so many variables, mainly dealing with your abilities and such.

Hopefully some of our resident designers will chime in.