Merc 40 4 hp - need help starting it!

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by Jack Flak, Feb 5, 2012.

1. Jack Flak

Jack Flak New Member

So - I'm new to all this boating stuff (as in just bought an old jon boat with a 'like new' fully rebuilt Mercury 4 hp motor).

I took the boat out and put gas in the tank and added the proper amount of 2 cycle oil. I pumped the gas line a few times, turned the choke lever to 'choke', put it in 'neutral' and the handle to 'start'.

I pulled the rig cord a dozen times and more - nothing happens. then did it again and again.

The motor is old but actually looks great - and the guy showed me the 'guts' of it that he rebuilt - looks nice and newish - he said he tested it and fished with it.

but I get nothing to happen. What am I doing wrong??

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

You put gas in the tank and then poured in the oil??
    MIX FUEL AND OIL BEFORE you pour it into the fuel tank !! has to be shaken about for it to mix or just lays in the bottom of the tank! and then goes into the carburator !!
    Its easy to flood a 2 straoke motor !! Take out the spark plugs and clean .Have you checked the spark ??
    Two pulls on full choke and then push it back in again !! open the throttle about 1/4 the way and try again :D

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

If you have to mix in the tank, always put the oil in first. The fuel sloshing in will help mix it.

4. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Those motors are pretty simple. Check for a spark at the plugs.

Check that gas is inducting thru the carb. Normally after you pull a dozen times you will smell the gas.

If you have spark and gas, those simple motors start.

5. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Lets see you bought a renovated motor of a guy that did it himself . You did not hear it running and now you find it doe'snt run..

Hmm lets see now what the hell could that be!!!

6. pistnbroke

pistnbroke I try