KnifeFoil

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by David J Ritchie, May 21, 2018.

1. David J Ritchie

David J Ritchie Junior Member

Me:
    First off I am your average ordinary kooky inventor. Currently I am working mainly on exotic green energy technologies. I have had a passion for vehicles for most of my life. I am not a engineer nor do i have that skill set so please teach me kindly.

Originality:
    I went through 400+ hydrofoil designs and so far I have not found its twin. Let me know if you think this was designed before as I would love to give credit to the original designer. As far as I know this is all mine.

Inspiration:
    I was watching small light and fast planning tunnel hulls. I hate the efficiency of the planning hull. So the idea was to replace the planning lift of the tunnel hull with fixed hydrofoils.

So what is it:
    It amounts to a jon boat but with two oversized skegs coming down the entire length of the beam, this is essential for trapping tunnel forces in. Coming off the inside of the skegs, in canard formation, are 2 sets of fixed hydrofoils, these replace planning lift. The rear set of hydrofoils are canted downward and the front set have an upward angle of incidence, for automatic stability. Ordinary but oversized trim tabs pushing on compressed air instead of water, for keeping righting moment. Altho not included in my primitive drawings the power and steering are accomplished by an ordinary outboard motor, extra long shaft with wave piercing prop. I call it the Knifefoil as it will slice its way so well through the water.

Advantages:
    -Less water resistance than any planning hull will produce more speed with the same power
    -More vertical stability than any other powered fixed hydrofoil
    -Wider tunnel = more tunnel lift than any other tunnel hull

Disadvantages:
    -Terrible draft wile at rest or going slow
    -High CG wile up on foil
    -Engineering and tuning will present a serious challenge

Keys to Success: